Letter to Thanksgiving

Dear thanksgiving,
I guess you would be a “forgotten” holiday,
Everyone is already getting ready for Christmas.
People don’t see how amazing you are,
You give us pumpkin pie and family time,
You allow us a time to give thanks to anything.
You’re a tradition as old as America itself almost,
Plus this year you’re twinning with Hanukkah.

I love you thanksgiving,
Always my favorite,
Just because you don’t seem bothered with the fact
That a lot of people skip over you.
Just know that you will have me,
Always eating turkey and the pie so you can feel better,
Even if you don’t care.

So, all in all, thanksgiving is something that everyone should love,
Not just me.

You’re follower,
Lucy

20131119-204757.jpg

Photo Credit: Nemo’s great uncle via Compfight cc

3 thoughts on “Letter to Thanksgiving

  1. This is a great way to express your love for thanksgiving and how you said that thanksgiving would always have you. I agree that a lot of people are awkward and don’t celebrate it because they are ’embaresed ‘ to give thanks.

  2. Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday, and I love this letter! I have always wondered why the big department stores always hurry to set up Christmas decorations before Thanksgiving even arrives. Your letter really helped me connect and you’re not the only follower of Thanksgiving out there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *